Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
119 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
2005 ZX3 (manual) right blinker stopped working or worked intermittently after wiggling the wires behind the headlamp housing. Also had low or dead battery issues in the morning and experienced a few other gremlins. I have limited knowledge on electrical and had the car in a shop for three days but the issues came back after it was claimed to be fixed. So I cleaned the ground wires behind the headlamp and next to the battery and replaced the negative battery terminal clamp. Turn signal is now working and no more battery drain. However, at some point while I was having those issues, the wipers stopped going to the home position when turned off (they stop in the middle of the windshield) and when moving, some air comes through the vents when climate control is off. The blower motor is NOT on and I only feel the air when moving.

Does anyone have suggestions on what to check to get the wipers to go all the way to the home position and to get the cabin vents to stop letting in air (when driving with the climate control off)?

I think there is still some low level resistance somewhere in the system so other suggestions on that are welcome.

·
Registered
1,410 Posts
A certain amount of air leakage past the plenum doors is expected on a 15 year old car.

If you set the wipers to intermittent do they park in between wipes?

Paul

·
Registered
119 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
On intermittent, the wipers do park at the bottom of the windshield (although it stops a few inches higher than my '07 Foci).

·
Registered
1,410 Posts
On intermittent, the wipers do park at the bottom of the windshield (although it stops a few inches higher than my '07 Foci).