Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi guys this is my first post, well ive just bought a 2000 Focus ZX3 5-speed all stock except for a k&N air filter it has 95K on it and runs well but it loses to every single car on the road my friend beat me in her 05 hyundai elantra 4cyl 5-speed and i just taught her to drive it last week! her car is bone stock and she can barly drive it! ive been racing cars for about 8 years mostly mustangs and such, but this is possiably the slowest thing ive ever been in im afraid to take it to the track cause i know ill be embaressed! why are these cars so slow? ive heard they have good flowing heads and intakes on them... i see the exhaust manifold is very restrictive but that shouldnt have this much effect on performance, what is the compression ratio? im thinking about just taring down the engine and finding a stroker kit for it making it 11:1 comp with some good forged slugs in it and a mild port job on the head, still keep it streetable but at least have some ba##s any ideas? will cams help this turd at all? what about tranny gearing? thanks guys

·
( o Y o )
5,549 Posts
These cars are supposed to be econo boxes, but losing to an elantra?! Intake, and a full exhaust is one of the best bangs for your $$$. I dont know what emmisions is like in NY but try and get a long tube header, it will be loud but a resonator will fix that. The zetec head is (if thats the motor you have) isnt the best flowing head, the duratec head is. With a P&P and FR stage 2 cams with intake and exhaust and a tune i think there are people on here in the 140+ hp range? these cars already have some pretty low gearing (3.9s?) and people do put 4.06s in them, but then that affects highway fuel economy. A tune really helps to. SCT tuned by any of the sponsor shops will help out quite a bunch, especially with mods. Hope this helps.

·
Registered
2,218 Posts
being a 2000, it could have an SPI motor in it.