Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
1,866 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have an extra stock guage surround and want to get a guage fitted where the coin tray is.

I've seen the how-to, but I have no experience with fiberglass, and frankly I'm scared to try.

PM me with the details.

·
Registered
4,805 Posts
tapplastics.com has a decent FAQ...

You can remove the instrument cluster bezel, and then pop out the tray, I am sure it's removable, if not, then just cut it out using a hole cutter or something.

Once you have made room for it to fit, I would mask off the bezel and guage with tons of tape or aluminum foil, then position it where you want it, and secure it, and mold the shape out of modeling clay. You can fiberglass right over the clay without problems just to form the shape. Then pull it away, scoop out and remove the clay, and finish the project.

Cut small sections of woven fiberglass mat, (don't use shredded mat, it makes a mess, and is only like $0.20 cheaper). Soak them with resin with cataylst (hardener) added. Usually it's like 14 drops per every 1 oz of resin. (some resin is a 1 to 1 ratio)...

For a project like this, It would be good to use S2 glass because of it's weight. You don't want a heavy, thick mat for a project like this.

S-2 Glass • 4522
30" width is ideal for surfboards. S-2 glass was the first developed for military missle applications. It is a different glass than standard E-glass and is about 30% stronger and 15% stiffer. Most commonly used for high performance surf and sailboards to provide greater strength with less weight than with E-glass. Use anywhere high strength-to-weight ratios are required. S-2 glass is compatible with all TAP polyester and epoxy resins.
• Width: 30"
• Wt: sq yd • 3.7 oz
• Thickness: 5.5 mil
• Count: 24 x 22 (warp x fill)
http://www.tapplastics.com/shop/product.php?pid=88