Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have all stock svt suspension and am thinking about upgrading the rear sway bar to make the car handle better with a little less understeer. I've been shopping around and it seems like my choices are the Progress, H&R, or Steeda bar. Does anyone use any of these on the SVT and have any opinions?

·
Registered
484 Posts
yes before i say i am a noob to the performance mods....what exactly does the sway bar do

·
Registered
348 Posts
reduces body roll.

·
Sückn' n Blown
7,747 Posts
I'm very happy with the Progress 22mm bar. It will give you a nice netural balance.
My girlfriend has an H&R 24mm bar on her SVT-equiped Focus, and while it makes oversteer a bit easier, it would be on the line of what I consider street-safe (don't want to oversteer when you don't want it, like in an emergancy)

·
Registered
511 Posts
I believe the SVT comes with a 22mm bar stock. I myself am going to go with the H&R, I've had good experiences with their products. The Steeda bar looks nice, but I've seen a warning (on steeda.com or c-f-m.com, I can't remember) that you must use a larger front bar or else you'll get a lot of oversteer.

·
Registered
75 Posts
I have the Steeda 28.6mm rear bar on my SVT - the car will oversteer, as I found out in a most unfortunate way. As far as everyday driving under normal conditions, it performs beautifully; however, on slick roads, its what I would call "unforgiving." I should also note that I am using 5mm H&R spacers in the rear to improve the stance and somewhat counteract the propensity to oversteer.

·
Registered
591 Posts
stock svt bar is 21...seems as though the best bar to go with is the progress 22mm or the H&R 24mm dont rule out F2 i beleive has a 25mm bar now along with Eibach...i may try the 25 seems liek a happy medium...the steeda is a bit large if your not going to urgrade the front you may have to becareful in certain conditions.

·
2focusedracing