Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Adam
1,688 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How much of a difference would two 15mm spacers on the rear of the car make for handling? I'm hoping by widening the rear, i wont have to worry so much about snap over steer.

·
Focusless
1,826 Posts
I think you have this posted in the wrong section.
The Wheels, Tires, Brakes & Suspension section would probably be your best bet...

·
Adam
1,688 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
AHH now I found where i posted this.... I would have sworn i was in the Wheels, Tires, Brakes & Suspension area.. Whops.

MODS delete/lock please!!

·
Adam
1,688 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Yes, I'm just wondering if the wider wheel base will help any with snap oh gosh i cant remember if its oversteer or understeer.. I just dont want the rear to fly out on me if i decide to let off the gas or apply some breaks in mid turn.

·
Banned
7,946 Posts
not sure, im not an expert on street cars. but i would space all 4 corners if you want a wider stance. also, with that huge of a spacer, your gonna need longer wheels studs. or your going to end up braking them off.

·
Adam
1,688 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Yeah I believe new studs came in the package I saw. Though with my suspension finally fixed, and a NICE alignment specs from geezer, I am extremely happy with the way my car performs now, and anything that can further enhance the cars control is just more icing on the cake!

·
Registered
2,807 Posts
if you are really concerned about oversteer, just remove your rear sway bar. or dont hit the brakes in a corner.
I dont know if widening the track will make any difference for oversteer.

also, do you have 15mm of room to push out the wheels? what offset is your wheels, will that cause any rubbing on the fenders?

·
Registered
1,484 Posts
I don't think widening the stance will help with this problem man - could be wrong though, not a professional

·
Adam
1,688 Posts
Discussion Starter #10