Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1,086 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
May be a dumb question but hey, I'm new at this.[8] I was wondering what higher fuel pressure would do for me. Kill my MPG? I'm not racing this ride or anything, just looking to get as much performance as possible...

·
Registered
1,086 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
So far all I have is a FS Cool Flo intake. In the next couple of weeks I am getting a tune. Planned for the next 6 mo: Exhaust (FS Stealth most likely), 65mm throttle body, possibly an underdirve pulley kit if I can find one...

·
Registered
930 Posts
The only reason you would need them:

turbo
dry nitrous setup above 50hp
crazy ass NA setup

Otherwise, your money is better spent on other items. There are two companies that I know of for sure are making underdrive pullies. CFM is one, and the other will anounce their when they are ready, which should be VERY soon. You need to research the pullies A LOT, because a bad install = a destroyed engine. The new pullies will have much better instructions, etc., but if you mess up, say good bye to your duratec.

Intake, exhaust, cams, tune, header, throttlebody (in just about that order, pulley whenever, just heed my warnings) would be optimal. If you end up going turbo, no need for the header, and if you are planning to make big power later (say, above 200hp at the crank) go ahead and get a 2.5in exhaust. It will save you buying it twice.

·
Registered
1,086 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Yeah, I know about the danger involved in incorrect installation of the UDP. I have a buddy who builds drag cars who is helping me put some balls on this rine. Thanks for the info though...

BTW, visited your gallery, that paint is AWSOME![thumb]

·
Registered
1,797 Posts
You MUST tune very specifically for the new injectors.
You need to be making a pretty large amount of power to justify new injectors, right around 190-210whp is where the stock injectors start to reach their limits.