Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, i am a newbie, so if i mess up, SORRY.

Just got myself Year 2000 zetec 1.4 . when driving along, there is what you might describe as a power lag, (or momentary) loss of power.

1. changed plugs. problem persists
2. changed leads. as above
3. changed coil. advised by main dealer. problem persists [?|]

so where do i go from here ????

·
Registered
25,627 Posts
Possible bad load of gas, with maybe some water in the gas???

Does it have any aftermarket bits?

·
Registered
384 Posts
If its only for a moment and they its normal again i would be looking at fuel pump and egr systems.

If its a total loss of spark and the car jerks or bucks look at plugs/wires/coil pack.

If it always feels like a loss of power.....Blame the 1.4l :)

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #8 (Edited)
Hi viney 266, I thought it may be fuel problem, so ran tank quite low, and went to different fuel supplier. also no after market bits, car is standard.

Hi allanzx3, before I check the fuel pump, would it be easier/cheaper to check the fuel filter ?? more to the point, could it be the fuel filter ?

thanks for replying [confused]

·
Registered
384 Posts
Yes a fuel filter could cause an issue as well and shoud be replaced as part of regular maintance.

Honestly it sounds more like an egr issue. But im not sure if the 1.4l shares the same dpfe sensor issue as the 2.0l.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
Hi, back again, well finally got a diagnostic done on electric system, including all sensors... it is definitely NOT electrical, so ruling out egr issue. so it looks like it is some sort of fuel related problem; water contamination, fuel filter, fuel pump etc.

Gonna try changing the filter first, as I am advised this is the cheapest option.

was also advised to try using some kind of additive which can be added to the fuel tank, with a view to breaking down water contamination ???