Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
461 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to changing brakes and am not sure what will give me performance, for a reasonable price. I know I want to replace the rotors with the standard ones later (no aftermarket or slotted type) but what pads will give me good stopping power, little brake dust & reliability/durability? also; where should I get them?

·
Registered
226 Posts
Hawk. strait up. EBC gives you a ton of brake dust untill for somereason you upgrade to crossdrilled/slotted rotors...i barely have ANY brake dust now

·
Registered
93 Posts
but when you do upgrade your rotors, buy OEM from a dealer, or a nice set or slotted ones. you might find that a performace rotor is either cheaper or more bang for your buck than OEM. stay away from chain parts store stuff!

·
Registered
461 Posts
Discussion Starter #5 (Edited)
thanks guys,

Any truth to what the meineke guy told me this afternoon: "the focus has a german engineered brake system & needs new rotors basically every time you replace pads. You're going to replace them often."

also; how much should i spend on brake pads, and rotors? and any suggestions for a good site or store to buy from would be good as well, thanks!

last question; anyone know of any tutorials on how to install pads and maybe rotors?

·
Registered
1,725 Posts
I just put Hawk pads on my car. I love them. I also reused my rotors. I have never done it before, but I just sanded them down. They are working fine. I am thinking new rotors would have been a waste of money.

·
Registered
461 Posts
Discussion Starter #8