Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
so i have a completly stock 2001 focus zx3 with everything but no sunroof and i was wondering if i would need any thing like a bigger alternator if i were to hook up a

dual 12 inch 1200 watt sub
aftermarket rockville rvd7.0 headunit
4 6x8 rockville 320 watt rms and 1280 peak watt speakers
and 2 7 inch rockville headrest monitors

i just would like to know because im new at modifying cars

·
C2H5OH
11,867 Posts
Amps = Watts / Volts

Nothing you're buying will reach the wattage you're listing. Economy audio products are notorious for lying about their specs.

But, you'll be fine on the properly working stock alternator.

·
Strichmädchen & Koks
3,112 Posts
LOL @ 320 watt RMS 6x8 speakers.

They'd probably catch fire if you even thought of feeding it that much power.

·
Strichmädchen & Koks
3,112 Posts
Also, it should be pointed out that the watt rating on speakers and subs has zero bearing on how much power they use. That rating is purely for pairing them with an appropriate amp so they 1) have enough power to actually work correctly and 2) don't get too much power from the amp.

You need to look at what your amp draws and use that for figuring out power levels. Also, what the amp is rated at and what it will actually put out are very often two different things. If the amp only has a 40 amp fuse, but is rated to put out 1000 watts of power, then something ain't right. 40 amps x 12 volts = 480 watts. Nowhere near 1000 watts.

Regardless, unless you're spending serious money on a serious system, you don't need to change the alternator.

·
Premium Member
44,595 Posts
Welcome to FF AngryEagles!

I'll move this to the Car Audio section where you can find more info. on setting up Stereo systems.

·
Vince your Moderator
5,074 Posts