Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
2004 SVT. Replaced front pads and now have brake, traction control, ABS lights staying on. When taking off the master cylinder cap the wires were kinda short so tugged a"little" on it. I'm know the wire can be disconnected but I get kind impatient trying to unlock those things. My bad. No evidence of a broken wire so?

·
Registered
136 Posts
Maybe you "nicked" or have debris on the actual ABS sensors that are mounted on the knuckle behind the rotors... Or disconnected somewhere

You will have to throw your SVTF on ramps or pull the wheel/rim off to inspect...

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the replies. No codes showing. I have no real history on this car but see no evidence of abs on the front. Must be missing something.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
ABS, traction control, and emergency brake light all stay on. Scanned again, no codes. I'm new at this SVT business so dumb questions. Is the Focus SVT 2 or 4 wheel ABS. As previously stated all I did was replace the front pads and the light show began.

·
Thats What She Said
10,664 Posts
There is no connection from the ECU to the traction control or ABS. I was fighting this when trying to figure out why my lights were coming on when driving on wet conditions.

Check connections, clean stuff up, use dielectric grease .

I had an issue where something happened after I put my SVT back together. When driving in the snow or raidn my ABS and traction lights come on. There are no pids or ECU registers that hold or talk to the ABS system other than a health pin for it works or not does not work. I isolated it down to the passage side by driving along a road that had melted snow and only half the road was wet. Then took a guess and replaced the driver side sensor first. It works now.