Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
221 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, as I'v done my research and now that I'm just getting into Ford's (especially these Foci) I've found that these Valve Seats are too small, just on the 2.0 SPI engines.

I decided to take the car to my mechanic yesterday and figure this out. While it's in there, it's also getting two new rear wheel bearings (they were newer, but the last shop must of over torqued them). [smackbum]

Sssssoooooo...now after a few hundred into those, which I would do myself if they weren't pressed in, I'm also shelling out the cash for him to take care of the Valve Seats for good, before they go bad.

No, I don't want to engine swap. No, I don't want to sell it. I got it for wwaaaayyy too good of a deal to sell it ($1,600 with 82k on it).

Considering I did get it that cheap, I'm willing to put some money into it, including a possible trunk swap, from non spoiler to w/spoiler, and maybe a cluster with a tachometer on it, since mine is an auto without the tach. I'm not sure yet, since it really doesn't bother me that much.

Here comes the question. I've already handed my mechanic a few hundred dollars to take care of this problem before my engine implodes, and he's capping the labor and parts at $500 tops. What is he going to do, to take care of the Valve Seats to make sure it never happens again? Send it to a machine shop maybe? Can he do it with some newer parts and some locktite? [lockdance]

Any help and input is appreciated. Thank you! Glad to be part of the community!

·
8 DAY HOMECOMING
13,109 Posts
Na its inevitable, it will happen, not when. Of course you will always have your black sheep.
The problem is that it was made from 2 different materials, steel and aluminum say, so they contract and expand at different temps. Eventually the one falls inside the other, tearing up the piston, rod, etc.