Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Some jerkface jerkwad keyed my car. The gash is about 15-16 centimetres long (6-7 in), up to 1.5mm thick (1/16 in), and goes quite deep.

Here's a close up: http://i.imgur.com/IEEjtxU.jpg

Other than using the touch up paint (Magnetic Metallic, paint code J7), is there anything else I need to do to treat this? I'm going to wash my car so that the surface is clean and there's no foreign bits and pieces. Do I need to sand down the edges with something, apply a primer, or anything else?

Of course I'm going to pick up the paint from my dealership's Parts department, and I'm going to have them come check out the gash and let me know what they think I should do, but I thought to also check here first in case you had some great ideas.

Thanks!

·
Registered
56 Posts
I'm no professional, but I'd probably sandbar it to get dirt out and just use touch up paint, unless you think it's worth sanding and repainting that area, which is really your call.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk

·
-----<M>-----
2,724 Posts
I recently touched up some similar scratches and rock chips. I applied the standard touch up paint then wet sanded it down with 2000 grit and buffed out the scratches with scratch remover / polish. I had varying success with it but even in the worst case it makes the touch up much less noticeable by the casual passerby.

·
Registered
5,898 Posts
I got a one that is almost 10" on the c-pillar from an a-hole and to properly fix it we had a $1200 estimate mostly because the whole panel needs to be resprayed and then the doors and such would have to be blended to look perfect again and the fact that it's a candy color that is a bit pricey.

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter #6