Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I’ve been lead astray by my ford dealership when I purchased the car used back in October last year. During the buying process I was lead to believe that the dual clutch warranty lasted for 10 years. But come to find out it’s only 7yrs and my warranty ends September this year.

I love this car and I’ve been silently reading about toms tune on the site for quite a while now but I’m in a pickle as from what I’ve been told I’ll have to replace clutches almost every 20k miles for 2k a pop on stock tune can’t do that..

So my last ditch effort is to do a dual clutch replacement this month and purchase toms tune same day. Only problem is I’ve never done that before, can someone please set my mind at ease?

·
Torretto!
3,879 Posts
^^^ Search the thread on How to drive a dual clutch transmission, there's also many you tube videos on the subject.. not saying you don't know but there's some things that cause overheating and excess wear on the clutches and other issues.

Tom is great, he's pretty open to calls or emails..he's busy so get to the point.. he's tuned my car and it's great so far...just be aware you need to datalog, it's pretty easy... better with a laptop and livelink software, using the scct4 device to datalog is slower and creates large files too big to email (Tom doesn't accept compressed or encrypted files). You will need to datalog which is starting the datalogging software on the laptop hooked to OBD2 port, start the car, idle for 5 minutes.. go for a short drive, do a wide open throttle pull in 3rd gear to redline or as far as it will go before it shifts. Email the file to Tom, he sends you updated tune..load that to car, and there you go.