Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
356 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
ok I have been fighting this for the last 3 months now... slowly eliminating all things that could be the issue.

This all started when I drove through a rather large puddle (not hydrolock large just a big splash) and sent a mist of water into the intake, I disconnected the intake after and saw that a mist of water was sent in.

The problem:
Under partial or even full throttle leaving a stop light in 1st gear its all good then about 75ft after starting to roll I will feel a massive drop in power accompanied with a POP POP POP out the exhaust almost like shitloads of fuel are going into the exhaust. it clears itself up when I lift and then re-apply the throttle. it only happens when its withing 10 minutes of starting the engine no matter if its cold or hot. On cold starts I get a pretty good deal of surging if I get on it when the engine is still cold. On a cold start the idle is a lil loopy but not bad.

I also since then have gotten much more popping off throttle.

I did a few things that helped reduce it but not eliminate it:
Replaced the forward O2 (36K miles)
Replaced the TPS (36K miles)
Replaced the Fuel Filter (36K miles)
Replaced Plugs (Iridiums) (36K miles)
New-er plug wires (9mm Ford Racing) installed about 5 months ago.
Datalogged and sent it to Wayne who sent me a new tune that somewhat reduced it... you could tell it was a bit different at idle as the old tune ran much more rich at idle than this one (the nose AFR meter ;))
I cleaned the MAF with electric motor cleaner and it looked intact.
I removed the AEM CAI and put in the stock SVT airbox w/ new K&N filter.

I am about to go and attack the IAC but dont want to unless I need to ... I dont see why the IAC sould affect on throttle action.