Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
126 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay so I am a complete noob when it comes to tires and at 42K miles it seems mine are already starting to bald and with all this snow and ice it seems I need a new set. Now I plan on getting a set of winter tires to finish off this winter and then I plan on buying some rims and a new set of summer/spring tires.

I would like to buy the tires from Costco because they are cheap and will do all the maintenance free and will repair the tires if anything ever happens. I 100% am buying the winter tires from them, I may or may not get the other set from them.

Winter Tires:

My selection from costco was a set of bridgestone ecopia 422 tires for 542$, or a set of michelin tires which he did not specify what they were because they were not in stock, but they were about $100 more than the bridgestone tires. He kept telling me the bridgestone set had more traction and were overall better tires. I was a little confused as to why he was trying so hard to sell me the bridgestone tires. Meanwhile, another customer walked in while he was telling me that and said that michelin was way better and had more traction.

tl:dr Michelin or Bridgestone for winter tires? Unless you recommend a completely different set of tires which I will listen to and take that into consideration.

Summer Tires:

I have a lot of time to get these but I would like some tires that are wider than normal tires? Does this make sense? I like the look of wide tires and seriously hate narrow tires but I never did understand how some people got wider tires than others. Do I need specific rims or a specific car? Any input or general advice is welcome.

Thanks guys

·
Rebecca
2016 Focus ST
18,803 Posts
what is your stock wheel size? Use those for the winter, as for summer tires, the stock 18's are a 235-40-18 wheel and tire combo.

Here's the factory 18 inch wheels painted in black chrome