Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey hey fellas! I'm a newbie to this site and I'm in need of some guidance for an issue I'm having with my gf's car. She has a exhaust leak that I couldn't pinpoint when I gave her car a seafoam treatment. What happened was there was a good amount of the Seaofoam smoke coming out from the exhaust manifold area. Her car hesitates on acceleration, idle drops at stop lights, and sometimes when she's driving I feel like the car is misfiring and bogging down a little. I read on here about the PCV valve, PCV valve hose, and EGR pipe symptoms that might cause some of these issues but nothing that directly related to mine as a lot of these findings related more to Zetec cars. I'm going to attach a video that I found on Youtube of a Focus that is having the same problem as my gf's car to see if anyone can recognize this leak and help me. I have bought some parts that I have yet to install which include: Spark plugs, and a Fuel filter. TIA [wave]

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ljDs8JOcisQ

·
Registered
1,886 Posts
exhaust manfiold gasket?? either way i say if you know anyone who owns a lift, get it on there and inspect it. or jack it up, get under it and let it run if you dont mind getting dirty. also welcome to FF!! we're glad to have you with us! ~John Davis voice~

·
Registered
180 Posts
Check connections and I had the same problem on my 20 duritec. Turned out to be a roasted piston ring in NR1 cylinder. Did you pop a CEL?

·
Registered
180 Posts
I was going to say that If your PCV is clogged it might create pressure insid the crank area of your motor but very doubtful seeing as to how many different oil ports there arein the block that lead to outside source. All the PCV valve does is recirculate shitty gasses from inside your motor back through it to burn them off. Have you done a tune up on it lately?

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #7