Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
545 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
MUST READS (don’t post back to this thread until you click the next four links)
Basic Car Audio Electronics - everything about everything - http://www.bcae1.com/

Master tutorial list (Fiberglassing, amplifier installing, kick panels fabricating, etc)
http://www.caraudioforum.com/vbb3/showthread.php?t=135835

FF FAQ (maintain by Scott)
http://focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=16630

Basic Electronics
http://www.hvacmechanic.com/basic_electricity_and_elecronics.htm


Sub reads (pulled from FAQ for the lazy)
Subwoofer and subwoofer enclosures explained
http://www.termpro.com/articles/subwoof.html

How-to: Amplifier installation
http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=18505

How to: build a simple subwoofer enclosure
http://www.splbassx.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=333


Now for new content ----

How-to: Connecting a stock head unit to an aftermarket amplifier
http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=19231

also a tip for the RCA is to splice up a RCA cord then connect it up to the factory Speaker+-
http://www.geocities.com/kellykeeton/wirediag/rcaChop.jpg

OEM Sub Speaker Colors (Sub + -)
2000/2001 white black (not verified)
2002+ white/black grey/black (however i know there is a orange so let me keep verifying)

To install a new sub into the factory box
http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=45625
http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=40104
This is one example basically you need to use your brain on this one.

To install a new amp with the factory sub
This is not recommended it’s a waste of money so I have no how to
The Factory Amp is 150w Amp with a Sony 8" 8ohm Sub (not for the 2002Mach however)

To remove the factory sub and amp and install a aftermarket sub and amp
the best way is to run new RCA wires to the trunk along with a amp power on and 12v+ form the battery. To get more details see the links at the top of the page (not part of this document)

to use current wires tip for the RCA is to splice up a RCA cord then connect it up to the factory Speaker+-
http://www.geocities.com/kellykeeton/wirediag/rcaChop.jpg

OEM Sub Speaker Colors (Sub + -)
2000/2001 white black (not verified)
2002+ white/black grey/black (however i know there is a orange so let me keep verifying)

To install a new head unit and use factory sub
Install the head unit

The amp power on in the dash is red/white
Pin 4? 2000/2001-black/blue (not red/white) –not 100%verified
Pin 10 2002/2003
Pin 2004
Pin 4 2005/2006

The amp power on is the Red/White Pin1 in the trunk 2002+
(black/blue 2000/2001 pin1 in the trunk)


Amp Power ON (how to convert an aftermarket head unit to power on the factory amp)

The aftermarket power on wire is standard as Blue 12v
The Focus Factory amp power on is Red/White 4.1volts

If your FACTORY amp turns on with a POP there are two things you can do to fix this.
Lower the voltage with a resistor ‘in-line’ the quick and dirty way would be

Deck-----blue12v----------------------100ohmResistor--------|red/white----amp

More on topic ala popping issues
http://www.caraudioforum.com/vbb3/showthread.php?t=97268


OEM Diagram information for all subs

2005 (also 2006)
http://geocities.com/kellykeeton/2005/interior/electrical/audio/subpower.jpg
http://geocities.com/kellykeeton/2005/interior/electrical/audio/subamp.jpg

2004
http://geocities.com/kellykeeton/wirediag/2004/audio/suba.jpg
http://geocities.com/kellykeeton/wirediag/2004/audio/subamp.jpg

2003
http://www.geocities.com/kellykeeton/wirediag/2003/2003subA.jpg
http://www.geocities.com/kellykeeton/wirediag/2003/2003subB.jpg

2002 + mach500
http://www.geocities.com/kellykeeton/wirediag/2002/2002a.jpg
http://www.geocities.com/kellykeeton/wirediag/2002/2002b.jpg
http://www.geocities.com/kellykeeton/wirediag/2002/2002c.jpg
http://www.geocities.com/kellykeeton/wirediag/2002/2002d.jpg

2001
http://www.geocities.com/kellykeeton/wirediag/2001/2001subB.jpg
http://www.geocities.com/kellykeeton/wirediag/2001/2001subC.jpg
http://www.geocities.com/kellykeeton/wirediag/2001/2001suba.jpg

2000
http://www.geocities.com/kellykeeton/wirediag/2000/audio/2000subB.gif
http://www.geocities.com/kellykeeton/wirediag/2000/audio/2000suba.gif
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
545 Posts
Discussion Starter #2 (Edited)
all images are linked to geocities where bandwidth is limited so if it fails try again later.

if you have any Q's need more definition blah blah blah let me know but please dont ask questions like "how do i install a alpine123 amp in the focus, where do i run wires, what gauge"

this thread is for technical questions RE the OEM->Aftermarket conversion or a combination of the two.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
545 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
this thread? http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=80581

my guess is that you must have a loose connection somewhere. park your car wiggle everything and test to get it working again, get a voltameter you need 12v on DC to the amp, AC on the speaker lines. 5volts on the Amp power on if you dont have that you have no sub.

if you 100% sure of the connectors then check the back of the radio get a multimeter with tips that can peirce the shield, test for AC to the sub (use the wire diags here to find which is which wire) and test for 5v to amp power on. if thats good then you have a faulty sub amp -factory or junk yard replacments. or aftermarket.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
505 Posts
spudgunman said:
this thread? http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=80581

my guess is that you must have a loose connection somewhere. park your car wiggle everything and test to get it working again, get a voltameter you need 12v on DC to the amp, AC on the speaker lines. 5volts on the Amp power on if you dont have that you have no sub.

if you 100% sure of the connectors then check the back of the radio get a multimeter with tips that can peirce the shield, test for AC to the sub (use the wire diags here to find which is which wire) and test for 5v to amp power on. if thats good then you have a faulty sub amp -factory or junk yard replacments. or aftermarket.
Yea that thread...but any how, that sounds very tedious, I quiver at the thought of all those wires. And my volt meter was fired in a 220 vlt dryer outlet...d'oh. I will mess with the connections first I suppose.
 
1 - 9 of 9 Posts
Top