Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
152 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just bought my SVTF on the weekend. It's a 2002 3dr with the winter package. I know there is a switch next to the heated seat button, which turns the stability control on, and off. However, even with it off, (orange light on in dash) it seems like the T/C is still on. If I try and take off fast, it reves down and won't spin the tires.

Last night I dropped the clutch at around 4K, and it shot down to 1K. -including a loud "thunk" from having the brakes applied~

Do I need a chip or something? Should I remove a fuse or relay, or unlug the abs or whatever it takes to test my car out? I just want the option of having T/C on and off. And I think the timeing changes too.

The engine does not hesitate, nor does it misfire. Its fine going into 2nd, even chirps the tires a bit.
Any ideas??

Thanks! Matthew

PS: I may of attatched files by accident. ignore any links of this post-im new to this

·
WhiteSTguy
5,390 Posts
that is completely normal, yeah i know it sucks. the only way to get rid of it is to get a tune or to pull the fuse. #46 i think in the fuse panel below the steering wheel on the left. Click here for how to. that's what i did to kill my traction. just remember that also disables the ABS!

** added ** Welcome to FocusFanatics.com! there's lot of usuful info and great people to help out here [thumb] all ya gotta do is ask.

·
Registered
152 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks! Good to know. Im gonna order a tune tommorow!! Im a 2nd year auto-tech, but I spend most of my time working on 1 ton trucks. So I dont get a chance to repair "cars." This forum looks great! I am sure I will learn alot!!!

·
WhiteSTguy
5,390 Posts