Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am in the market for a focus, I really like both the ZX3 and the SVT models.
I just hope to get a couple questions answered when in the market for one of these cars.

As far as performance goes how do the two cars stack up to one another?

Is the extra performance worth the extra money?

What should I expect to pay for an SVT Focus?

The one I am thinking of buying is a 2004 ZX3

Anyone have an opinion on which is bettter?

I am a focus noob plz help

·
Registered
11,161 Posts
Extra money IS worth it for an SVT. I can't say enough about the SVT....increased power, 6-speed Getrag tranny, awesome suspension, and still get about 30mpg on the highway. And not to mention the SVT exterior and interior is awesome! [:D] You should be able to find a used SVT around $10k but you will have to do some looking because they are a fairly rare car. The SVT does have a few little problems but you can encounter problems in a normal focus too, I personally haven't had a single problem out of mine yet. Overall, i'd say SVT hands down if you can afford it. Keep in mind you do HAVE to run PREMIUM gas in the SVT....but honestly, at 30mpg highway you're not gonna notice the extra $0.20 for gas digging into your bank account, it's honestly not that big of a deal.

·
Registered
1,512 Posts
You can find a used zx3 for around 1/2 that, and with the 5k you can get engine parts, upgraded suspension and brakes, interior, and a few other things and still be under 10k. Then you'd actually out perform a svt, IF done right.

IMO, it's all about what you want to start with and how much you want to spend. I could care less either way [:)~]

·
Sückn' n Blown
7,747 Posts
If you want a great car out of the box: SVT
If you want to build your own car on a budget: ZX3

The only cons on the SVT will be a higher purchase price (not really a con, but if you are on a budget, it doesn't help)