Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently got a 2003 SVT Focus in need of a lot of work that I plan to autocross in H Street next season in our local club. I have been racing my 2008 Audi A3 FWD DSG in Street class for the last two years and have had a blast, but wanted a car I could enjoy working on that wasn't too expensive to fix.

Audi A3 in Action

After a lot of work (see updates in the Builds & General Showroom forum), we took the SVT out for its first race last weekend at a neighboring club up in Oregon. This was the first time I drove the car aggressively and my first time autocrossing a SVT Focus. It was an absolute blast. The SVT handled really well, and had decent power, but I had a few missed shifts and in general was pretty sloppy as a driver. This was a weekend enduro event, so it was about 15 laps of practice and a 5 lap main event.

2016 SSCC Fall Enduro

Video (5 minutes, some wind noise)

Out of 70 entrants, we were 61st for overall time and 36th in PAX (handicap time). For a first time out, I think it was a respectable showing, and the car has a ton of potential. We brought home a trophy as no one else brought an H Street car to the event.

Our local club has our last event of the year next weekend, and I plan to race the SVT to get more seat time for next year. There are a few improvements needed for the car as well, mostly the shifter is a sloppy mess and I don't have 200 tw tires, but I'll work on that stuff over the winter and by our first race in April next year, I should be ready.

I doubt I will come close to the class leading H Street car in our club, a Fiesta ST, but I know I will have fun trying.

·
Super Moderator
8,853 Posts
Awesome! Glad you had fun.