Focus Fanatics Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey, I'm in the middle of doing my first brake job on my SVT focus. I'm replacing the pads and rotors on all four corners. My first question is how the hell do I get that spring on the outside of the front caliper back on??? I did, a forum seach, didn't see anything, but I'm sure someone else has had that problem.

Second problem I came across is I can't seem to compress my rear caliper piston, do I have to dis-connect the e-brake or something, that damn thing just wont go in. Do I need a special tool or something??? I'm lost, I've never seen rear brakes like these.... but I'm not a mechanic either, lol...

I have the master cylinder open with a rag over it, the e brake isn't on, ect...

Thanks for your help guys it's greatly apperciated

Attachments

·
Registered
1,067 Posts
I took a few pics the other day at work, thinking I would make a pictoral for this, since it's a common question... so here's a quick run thru..

TO REMOVE
The springs PIVOT OUTWARD, so your goal is to swing the spring towards you, gently prying it over the little groove that holds it in its place.

pry the top...

then the bottom...

it should look like this, now the caliper can come off easily..

TO INSTALL
(You might notice that I have a lugnut holding the rotor in place, I find it makes it easier during brake jobs to keep the rotor in its position this way, it is just finger tight)

start with the clip the same way...

gently pry the top end over the hump while pushing the bottom end over its hump with your finger

Here is a shot of how both hands should be placed... it takes a little strength, but not a lot. watch to make sure both ends are going over..

once both ends are in place, squeeze the center of the clip towards the caliper to fully seat the clip..

Done!