Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
2002 Ford Focus ZX3

57,000 Miles...

Problem... Its is making a skeekin noise when the car leans side to side, when ur driving... kinda sounds like something is not lubed... not sure...

Wife took it to a shop, and this is what the Quote of problems was....

F Strut Mount...
R sensa track shock..
F sensa track strut
R&I or R&R Front Shock&or strut

the total price for all th is labor is qoted at $715.91

I am not good with car mechanics... does this quote look resonable.. also... all t his stuff should be worn out at 57k??

anyinfo would be great... Thanks

·
RespectMyAuthoritah!
7,102 Posts
I installed my SVT Suspension on car. It the Cost of the SVT Suspension was $245 not including shipping. That includes Original Equipment on SVT Focus
Includes OEM SVT Shocks/Struts, Springs and sway bar.this:

I don't think that the stock suspesnion would be more expensive than that. Unless the Strut Mount is shot and you need a new one. I dunno, if the mount is shot i'm pretty sure you'd notice it. I'd take it somewhere else and get a different opinion. Not all shops are going to be nice to customers especially women.....

·
aka The Wizard
8,950 Posts
the strut mount is really called the steering knuckle so if thats your problem (its what mine was) you have to get a new knuckle and usually a new wheel bearing..... i think the knuckle is like $120 the bearing ships with it IIRC.

·
Registered
4,805 Posts
the strut mount could also be the strut bearing caps. Those seem to have more wear and tear than a solid metal steering knuckle.

that quote is semi-reasonable. However, you could spend $250 on the svt kit (better performance) and about another $150-$250 on installation (depending on labor rate)

·
Registered
8,262 Posts