Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
379 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok guys i'm lookin for ideas here. Friday night I parked my car and didn't drive it till this morning when I went to work. I have done this since I bought the car in january. I do this because I drive for a living and drive the Fusion on weekends to keep the miles down on the ST. Immediately when I started it the enginne started KNOCKING very loudly. I shut it off immediately and called my fiance(master certified ford service advisor). She heard it over the phone when I restarted. Went away after about 20 seconds. Has not done it since. One tech theorized that it was due to 3 days w/o starting. I don't buy that cause I've had the same routine since I bought it. Another one said something about the oil filter but I didn't catch exactly what he said. Keep in mind that at 7000 miles, the motor was overfilled by 3 quarts. Any ideas would be appreciated as I am sure it will not act up when I take it in (damn Murphy's law!!). BTW it has 9000 on it now. Thanks

·
Registered
1,307 Posts
Ive let my car sit for like 5 days not starting it and have never had it knock. i dont know all that much but i know by over filling it it can harm it later in its life so maybe thats your problem take to to ford if its still under war.

·
Registered
534 Posts
My '04 PZEV/Duratec sometimes sits for weeks without being started and never knocks at all when it starts. One of the nice things about the Duratec design is that the oil filter is mounted vertically so the oil can never drain out of the filter for a "dry" start. I'd put on a fresh name brand oil filter just to make sure that the filter isn't somehow impeding the flow of oil until the bypass valve opens. Also, what weight oil are you using? Thicker oil would be slower getting to all the bearings.

·
Premium Member
21,235 Posts
Well, if your fiancee works at a Ford dealership- take it in.