Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, this is my first post here so forgive me if its the wrong section.
I have an 02 Focus ZX3 5spd.
After installing a new clutch I noticed my car would stall whenever I'd make turns and idling. I looked around and noticed that the power steering pressure switch was disconnected, so I reconnected it "knowing" that it would fix the problem. I'm not a mechanic or anything so I had to do a lot of online research to even think it would be the pressure switch. Anyway, the car is still doing it.
During/after cornering my car will stall unless I'm accelerating (whether on neutral or in a gear).

Before I buy a new power steering pressure switch, I'd like to be 100 percent sure it couldn't be anything else. Does anyone think it's something else by any chance?

·
Premium Member
21,250 Posts
If it didn't do it before you replaced the clutch, then it does stand to reason that something happened during the install. True, the PS switch should signal the computer to boost the idle preventing stalling as a result of turning. There are a few culprits to check out first after you've double checked everything you can think of that you did when removing the transmission to install a new clutch.

The primary culprit being the IAC. This is what controls idle speed. It might not be doing it's job instead of it not getting a signal to do it's job which would be in the case of the PS switch not functioning. A few tests for the IAC would be turning on the AC and seeing if the idle drops, goes up, or stays about the same with the compressor engaged. If the idle drops, there's your culprit. Remove the IAC, clean, and re-install. If that doesn't work, then you might consider replacing it.