Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
has anyone ever used the Spyder Blue Intake? i looks similar to the AEM one but is only $55. the filter it's self is probably junk but everything else looks similar. MAF hook-up and what not look to be all there.
for this price it may be worth a shot.

·
Registered
295 Posts
hmmm...how much is a little cash? plus i have to deal with shipping
Well I think I am selling the car this weekend. But if I don't sell this weekend, we can make it happen I will keep you posted. Well, how about your intake + $40? The stock SVT intakes seem to sell for about $100 and this one sells for $250 new and is still in nice shape.

Sean

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
A drop in filter to the stock air box has proven to have the best performance over anything out there

Tom
really, why is that? are there problems with aftermarket ones? please explain as i am new to the svt. my k&n typhoon works great on my 2.3 duratec with noticeable gains so i figured the AEM or Spyder intake with the similar design and location of filter would be beneficial

·
Registered
295 Posts
really, why is that? are there problems with aftermarket ones? please explain as i am new to the svt. my k&n typhoon works great on my 2.3 duratec with noticeable gains so i figured the AEM or Spyder intake with the similar design and location of filter would be beneficial
Tom is 100% correct. However, the AEM produces a burly growl so it makes the engine have a nice tone. I can only assume the air the AEM sucks in is a bit cooler than the factory one since its tucked near the fender well but I could be off.

Sean

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
so i ordered the spyder intake. youtube reviews were pretty good and for 55 bucks i figured it's worth a shot. i'll be the test dummy

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #11