Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I'm new to the Focus - just bought one for my kids (1.8 petrol 1999 V) - small problem in that the speedo will just stop for no reason and then anything from 1 to 10 minutes later it comes back to life. Guess its an electrical contact but where do I look?

Other problem is perhaps more serious - twice now the engine has just cut out for no reason. OK it starts again as soon as you turn the key but this time it happened on a roundabout - not good! Any ideas?

Many thanks

·
Premium Member
21,250 Posts
I really hate to guess "computer issue". Check the battery terminals, starter connections, block and body earths, and alternator connections first to see if power failure could be causing the problem. It's hard to determine because you're not giving us information on whether or not anything else is working at the time that the car goes dead.

I assume that the speedo goes to 0, but you're still moving which is why you say it goes dead when the car dies. That's why I'm leaning toward a possible computer problem. These are rare- although computers are commonly blamed for a lot of gremlin associated problems in cars. I'd check all the electrical earths and positive connections to be sure that none are loose before taking it to a dealer to have the computer checked.