Focus Fanatics Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone, newbie here.
So my daughter got side swiped on the right (passenger side) and the insurance company totaled the car. I bought it back from them and now I want to replace the front passenger airbag system and components. I guess I need the curtain, a module and sensors. Does anyone here know exactly what I need to get the system back to normal? What kind of cost am I looking at?

Thanks guys and or girls...I look forward to using this place and helping where I can.

·
Registered
42 Posts
I'd buy used components if possible. New will be cost prohibitive (there's a reason they totaled your daughter's car). I'm not familiar with where the items are in that car but typically the curtain needs replaced, the sensor (probably in the vicinity of the center pillar) and the control module (brain) which is usually in or around the center console. Foci also tend to blow the seatbelt pre-tensioners but this may not occur in a side deployment. After re-installing the components you will probably need a Ford dealer to reset the system and clear the SRS codes.

Side curtain deployment will usually ruin the headliner also.

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I'd buy used components if possible. New will be cost prohibitive (there's a reason they totaled your daughter's car). I'm not familiar with where the items are in that car but typically the curtain needs replaced, the sensor (probably in the vicinity of the center pillar) and the control module (brain) which is usually in or around the center console. Foci also tend to blow the seatbelt pre-tensioners but this may not occur in a side deployment. After re-installing the components you will probably need a Ford dealer to reset the system and clear the SRS codes.

Side curtain deployment will usually ruin the headliner also.