Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
334 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've had an annoying rotor shudder that I can trace back to an emergency stop I had to make back on a scorching day in August. I've just lived with the shudder, but last week I put two and two together and now think this is a case of pad material transfer to the hot rotor.

I'm a relative newbie to working on my brakes. Can anyone give me some input from their experience?

·
Registered
774 Posts
I have had a lot of brake related problems, just minor stuff like this shudder you are talking about. I would first consider taking the tires off, inspecting the front brakes. Take the caliper off, look at the rotor, inspect the pads. Then clean the slides with a wire brush well. Use brake clean and blast the rotors with that. Lastly I would take some very fine grit sandpaper and scuff the pads and the rotor lightly with that. But her back together the rightway.

Sometimes a simple thing like this can eliminate 80 to 90 percent of small queals, shudders, knocks, etc. I've some strange problems where one pads was not right and it threw out the whole operation making the car stop like crap.

If something like this won't fix it, I'd suggest attempting to turn the rotors (if they have low miles), or just buy all new pads and rotors and install the right way the first time and you should be good to rock at that point for a long time.

·
Registered
774 Posts
I am assuming you have a little bump and kick in the brake pedal that you can feel in your foot when you are trying to stop.

I have the same thing currently, my rotors are Bendix (I think) they are 3 years old and I live in Ohio where winter weather and salt kills cars that don't recieve regular washings. (as you probably experience from living up in Vancouver)

·
Registered
334 Posts
Discussion Starter #4