Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My Skill Level: total rookie (never taken off a door panel)

I'd like to line my 2012 Focus HB with dynamat. Roof, floorboards, trunk, hood, etc.

A few questions:
  1. What areas have already been soundproofed and don't need my help?
  2. Where's a good start for learning how to dissemble and reassemble door panels, carpeting, etc to do a project like this?
  3. If I'm a rookie, and I going to trash my new car doing this?
  4. What would a professional probably charge (in labor) for a service like this?

·
Registered
299 Posts
My Skill Level: total rookie (never taken off a door panel)

I'd like to line my 2012 Focus HB with dynamat. Roof, floorboards, trunk, hood, etc.

A few questions:
  1. What areas have already been soundproofed and don't need my help?
  2. Where's a good start for learning how to dissemble and reassemble door panels, carpeting, etc to do a project like this?
  3. If I'm a rookie, and I going to trash my new car doing this?
  4. What would a professional probably charge (in labor) for a service like this?
Well i've never really done this, but I know that it will at least run you in the few hundreds range for just the dynamat, a lot more if you get the actual brand. This is assuming you order it online yourself, if you have a shop buy it, they basically order online then up the charge a lot.

As for the labor, I would only assume it would be a few hundred, maybe 300 to have all of that done. It's a lot of money to have shops do anything.

·
Registered
82 Posts
I added a lot of soundproofing to my '03 SVT. It was quite effective for reducing road noise. There is a lot of information about eliminating noise, especially wind noise, here:

http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=199613