Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well I decided to remove the second cat and put a straight pipe after my header...I knew it was going to be louder but it is now stupid loud. I mean it sounds kind of cool if it was strictly a track car not a dd. My question now is what would be best to quiet this thing down?? I have an OBX header and an MBRP 2.5" cat back. I was looking at the FSwerks stealth muffler which I might be able to cut and weld to the MBRP, I'm waiting to hear back from FSwerks on the length of the stealth muffler to see if it is possible, or would I be better off getting a magnaflow resonator? Trubendz has an 18" resonator with the flange already welded in that I was looking at. Would one be better than the other?

·
Registered
14,399 Posts
I have a flowmaster muffler with lunchbox delete and mine doesnt sound that loud :-\ interesting...

·
Registered
1,222 Posts
I have a flowmaster muffler with lunchbox delete and mine doesnt sound that loud :-\ interesting...
Do You have a header installed?
It makes the Car insanely loud....I need to quiet down my zetec ZX3 before I even consider doing the header on my 07 ST.
To the OP:
It seems like the resonator may be the way to go to take out some of the buzz and higher pitched frequencies.
Changing the muffler will change the tone.

·
Registered
14,399 Posts
to tell ya the truth I dunno lol i had them change out the muffle and chop off the resonator :) and run pipe all the way back... :-\

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Do You have a header installed?
It makes the Car insanely loud....I need to quiet down my zetec ZX3 before I even consider doing the header on my 07 ST.
To the OP:
It seems like the resonator may be the way to go to take out some of the buzz and higher pitched frequencies.
Changing the muffler will change the tone.