Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, Im a newbie and need some good old fasioned help.

i have bought some new pads/disks for rear but having a problem fitting them.

The obvious thing is the piston is right the way out - How do you push it back in.
I have tried witha hammer and also with a screwdriver by turning it using the grooves on its surface but had to give up. The new pads are so thick, i would have to push the piston right in.

All I tried was the following:
took brake fluid res cap off to allow fluid to rise if i pushed the piston in.
jacked up car took rear wheel off, took hand brake off, pushed a rock under front wheel
undid the 2 bolts holding caliper on.
used a hammer to persuade the caliper off.
took a small spring off the back which looks like its connected to the hand break cable.
took old pads out
pull caliper apart
now left with a piston which looks like its fully out....

How do i get the piston in....?

Ford Focus W reg 2000 2litre Ghia hatch, 86,000 miles, united kingdom

im guessing either i need a clamp of some sort to turn which forces the piston back in
or i have to do something to the rear handbrake cable attached, perhaps the piston is racheted out by handbrake....

please help...

thanks in advance

·
RespectMyAuthoritah!
7,105 Posts
you need either a C clamp or a Caliper pusher (i don't know the proper name) The C Clamp would be easier to get a hold of. I've personally pushed mine in all the way by had and man that was a PIA. It can be done. Also if your pads are all the way out, you might wanna look at getting some Brake Grease to help lube them up when you push them in. It should make things go easier.

I don't know about across the pond, but a Caliper Pusher can be rented from a Auto Part Store, such as Autozone or Pepboys. A C-Clamp, you can get from just about any Hardware store.

OH

and [welcome]

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3