Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone, I recently bought a 2003 focus, single overhead, 2.0 manual. the problem i am having is that the car will start, and run for just a few seconds then die, after that it wont start again it just turns over and over. it is getting plenty of fuel pressure and the plugs are sparking. The first Mechanic we took it to told us that when he scanned it the ECU was showing up as a problem. we were also told that it could be something wrong with the pats system, but everyone who suggested that also said that the car would not have started in the first place if it was an issue with the security system. if anyone here has had a similar problem or could just help me narrow the problem down it would be much appreciated. I am a full time student so I am on a fairly tight budget and would like to be fairly sure of what i need to pay for before spending money on 5 different things.

·
DTC P0606
3,364 Posts
Hey I was a student once... long time ago. [:)]
So you need three things for an engine to run; fuel, spark and compression. (And whoever told you it wouldn't run at all if the security system (PATS) was active was correct.)

So some questions for you first:

Are you currently showing a CEL (Check Engine Light)? What was the DTC (Diagnostic Trouble Code) the first mechanic found?

How do you know the fuel pressure is sufficient? Fuel injection requires not just the presence of fuel but a reasonable amount of force behind it. The Focus requires 35-40 lbs/sq in. IIRC. There's no way to check pressure with an external gauge because the stock fuel rail has no fitting. (I think that's true for the SPI engine as well as the Zetec.)

To be honest, your problem sounds to me like fuel starvaton. Car starts, runs, dies...starts, doesn't run as long, dies...eventually won't start.