Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
139 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ME an my friend r wanting to buy race headers for our cars but we have a few questions
1 will we need to have a after market cat or will it bolt to the stock cat?
2 Will we need a flex pipe?
3 which would be the best improvement a new cat or header?
4Which type of header should we go with?
Sound is not an issue neither is the e-check
thanx for any help an suggestions

·
Registered
139 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
also will we need to buy anything besides the race header?

·
Registered
4,134 Posts
I'm not an expert but here I go.....

1. No cat
2. Yes but not sure.....
3. Def the header
4. FocusSport or Focus Central are very good

Sound is gonna be obnoxious if you don't have a resonator but........

Peace.........

·
Registered
10,024 Posts
if your not worried about sound or emissions then go longtube header, the cat is omitted in this

·
Registered
139 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
i will need a flex pipe though?

·
Registered
6 Posts
You can replace the header and cat with a race header, and if you do live in a emission checked area there are two options. A) Keep factory header and cat and bolt them on before your emissions check. B) Welding the cat with the proper flanges on to replace the flex pipe, highly recomend having urethane motor mounts on this one though, other wise you could torque the motor and break one of the flanges on your exhause due to lack of travel, it is doable but somewhat a pain in the ass.

·
Registered
10,024 Posts
welding a cat in would be a waste, you should upgrade the flexpipe too, it wont do any good to have one section smaller than the rest of the exhaust

·
Registered
793 Posts
mofocus said:
welding a cat in would be a waste, you should upgrade the flexpipe too, it wont do any good to have one section smaller than the rest of the exhaust