Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
167 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone,

I'm going to need to replace my front pads soon enough and I was interested in ceramic pads. I've tried to look around in the forum for my major concern if ceramic pads make any squeeling noise at all but I didn't see anything.

Also how effective are they in everyday driving and how do they perform in the winter? I'm a semi-spirited driver but I'm not abusive on the brakes 95% of the time.

Are the ceramic pads from UAP NAPA good?!! They're pretty much $80 Cdn + txs

One last thing, do I really need to resurface my discs even if they seem to provide no wobbly braking?

·
Registered
1,490 Posts
I asked about ceramics before and iddn't get an answer...i ended up goin with just semi metallic....but yes you do need to resurface your rotors...pads wear groves into the rotor b/c some parts of the pads are a lil harder than others...when you put new pads on w/o a resurface, they don't seat right and could cause unusual pad wear and you won't get a proper break in and could lose braking performance......always resurface or replace rotors...hope this helps some!

·
Registered
167 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks focused. Anyone know if ceramic pads are a wise decision? I don't care too too much about dust because i wash my car every week I just want durablity with no squeeking and disc problems.

·
Registered
274 Posts
I use the EBC sport rotors with EBC red pads they are ceramic No fade No mush No squeel The hotter they get the stickier they get . You do have to go easy on the braking the first 400 miles till they get seated but after that they do great. You stomp on them they lock up nice. And if your going 70 mph plus and need to slow just a tap will bring you down fast. Use this with braided steel brake lines and you better get ready for stopping power. As for brake dust I can go at least a month before anything even shows. Brake dust is very little.

·