Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
369 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The setup where the nitrous feeds into the fuel line prior to the fuel rail, is that called a "wet" set up?

Thanks,

·
FF Affiliate
31,087 Posts
If you run 2 solenoids 1 for nitrous and 1 for fuel that is a wet system , if you run 1 solenoid for just nitrous that is a dry system and in my opinion a POS

Tom

·
Registered
369 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Tom and all,

I'm still new to learning about nitrous applications. Any way you can dumb it down so i can be educated?

I've also heard that running the nitrous jet to your intake is not a great way to go. That true, as compared to connecting it to your fuel line?
Posted via FF Mobile

·
Registered
1,380 Posts
you want a wet system. the inject nitrous along with fuel into the intake. the other has a good chance of running lean and toasting your engine.

·
Registered
369 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Sorry tom, i got what you mean. Solenoid for nitrous and 1 for fuel. The fuel being the piece that keeps the proper a/f when taking the shot (otherwise you would run lean with just nitrous and risk damage).
Posted via FF Mobile

·
Premium Member
285 Posts
I've also heard that running the nitrous jet to your intake is not a great way to go. That true, as compared to connecting it to your fuel line?
Posted via FF Mobile

No nitrous system ever runs into your fuel line.

Dry System - Nitrous only, no added fuel. 1 Solenoid, 1 Nozzle injected into the intake.

Wet System - Nitrous & Fuel. 2 Solenoids, 1 Nozzle injected into the intake. Much, Much, Much, Much safer as you control the mixture and can avoid lean conditions. The main risk with this setup is fuel pooling from a poor kit / poor installation (and sometimes bad luck).

If this is something you are seriously looking at, also buy a window switch. This allows you to program when the system comes on a shuts off, helping to prevent bad things from happening.

·
FF Affiliate