Focus Fanatics Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
1,062 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ok i know its not legal, as in it would make you fail emissions, right? well....how much do you think a shop would charge to just replace it with a small peice of pipe... also would they even do it lol? would the gains even be worth it? i just hope it wont make it sound like crap...what do you think

oh, and what is the fine for doing that?

i'm a noob...i have a lot of questions...

·
Registered
108 Posts
yeah you would fail visual and a sniffer test probably too. and i know that no shop in kansas (good ones any ways) will do it because it will come back on them and they can get in trouble for doing it in the first place. i know on cars with a single cat the gains can be up to 10 horse, but usually it is more like 2 to 5. and i dont know how it would work with the two cats. it wont make it sound like crap, it will sound about the same, but quite a bit louder. umm hope i helped

·
Registered
1,062 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
well for some reason the shop i go to said that they have high flow cats, but even though they say its high flow they dont really do anything, and thatit would make you fail emissions, now i dont really understand that, but they said they would install one and i would have to sign some paper

·
Registered
4,805 Posts
nomoreavril said:
ok i know its not legal, as in it would make you fail emissions, right? well....how much do you think a shop would charge to just replace it with a small peice of pipe... also would they even do it lol? ...
oh, and what is the fine for doing that?
the fine can be really heavy, but the chance that you will get hit with it, is very slim.

The shop will most likely not do it, unless you were able to sign some sort or waiver saying it's for an "off-road event" taking place.

Here's some important info from random-technology regarding this.

Important Notice