Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been working on an engine swap in my 200 Focus SE Wagon. With a few hiccups, things have gone relatively smoothly. The one major hiccup is that a couple of people decided to "help me out" and misplaced a few parts. Generally not a big deal. Now I have gotten the thing back together... almost. There is a single-terminal green wire sticking up over by the ignition coil that I can't see anything to plug into. It also looks like something should be attached to the back of the plate that the coil is mounted on.

The starter won't engage... Unless that wire happens to be in contact with the valve cover, then it kicks and shoots sparks. I can say, he fuel pump appears to be engaging fine. The darn thing just won't turn over.

Can anyone tell me what that missing part likely is, and whether that's where this wire likely goes?

Please forgive the idiocy. I'm no mechanic... but I thought "How hard can it be?" Now I know... at least next time, I'll know what I'm getting into. heh

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
So, I found my answers... The part is a noise reduction capacitor. Nothing crazy, but I got my hands on one, so that's done.

Concerning the starter, it looks like I missed a ground. That's fixed.

So the starter cranks, but the car won't start (don't worry, I found the problem). Fuel pressure looks good (no gauge, but it's jetting out of the fuel line pretty fiercely). Plugs are wet from the gas.

Plenty of spark both at the coil and at the plugs.

I figure, I got air, fuel and fire... The only thing I can think of that I might be missing is compression. Time to check the timing.

Turns out the engine I bought is 180 degrees out of timing. Next weekend, I get to go set the timing (bought a tool set from CFM to help) and see if this thing fires up.

Wish me luck.

·
Premium Member
44,595 Posts