·
Registered
229 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi to all, while doing a triple job on my 2005 2.0:

- t-stat replacement
- PSM replacement
- serpentine belt replacement

i accidently broke a brittle power steering pump connector. Too bad as the t-stat has been installed quite easily with the p/s pump out of the way. I choose that approach because i intented to replace the belt too.

Question: how and what do i need to replace? See pics.

Thanks!

·
w/ my magic bag
29,375 Posts
Thats what it looks like...Its speeds the motor up some at idle when turning the s/w.

·
Registered
4,380 Posts
A little digging got me thinking its the pressure switch/sensor. Right?
Yes. In my 2004 book, it is called the power steering pressure sensor. I have no experience with that sensor or that broken part, so I can not help you much further. Can you tread-out the broken part from the hose assembly? -this requires unique skills and techniques. -and then other questions about the replacement part availability. I think & I fear that you may need to purchase the entire hose assembly; as opposed to fixing the old sensor fitment.

I do like your LARGE resolution picture: once zoomed-in, we can see an IC chip floating deep inside there, -because of the break & damage. Strange and funny that an IC chip is seen inside that port. Thank you for sharing your photo.

Thats what it looks like...Its speeds the motor up some at idle when turning the s/w.
I never knew (or thought about it) that existed, but I do agree that the PCM will/should adjust the engine RPM when steering wheel (s/w) changes happen, especially at engine idle. Thank you Felix.

·
Registered
23 Posts
If you look on the bottom side of that broken sensor, you should see it's meant to take a wrench to take the sensor off the line. If you replace the sensor, you won't have to replace the line itself.

·
Registered
15,559 Posts