Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1,578 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've got what's hopefully a small problem, but the symptoms are strange, I'm no mechanic and it's hard to search for... This is regarding my 2004 SVT @ 70k miles.

Driving at highway speeds about a week ago, I accidentally over-rev'd the engine in between shifts. My recollection is fuzzy, I don't believe I grabbed the wrong gear and mechanically over-rev'd, I think I just throttled too much after a redline shift. Coming down the rev's immediately I heard an almost buzzy, sort of grinding noise. No CEL, no loss of power. For the next couple days I heard it at rev's around 4.5k, and had therefor kept it under there. Last time I drove the car, I was noticing extra noise from the engine under load at any RPM. Still no CEL, or oil light. Not leaking any fluids. I checked on the dipstick wondering if I shredded the gears in the oil pump somehow, and didnt see any metal shavings but I didn't actually change out the oil so I'm not positive.

A friend as suggested maybe I did blow up the oil pump, knowing that the gears are cintered metal and reach some destructive harmonic at high RPM. I'm hoping this isnt the case, because that would suggest to me I've been hearing bearing noise from oil starvation, and probably bought myself a new engine.

Thoughts? Thanks..

·
Aurelius Pardus
26,535 Posts
to me, the buzzing sounds like throw out bearing maybe..........but then again you're not touching the clutch or anything at that point, are you?

·
FF God of South FL
2,417 Posts
kinda sounds like a tranny problem

·
Registered
1,331 Posts
I posted a response on [FJ], but ill copy and paste it here incase you check here first...