Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Here's the situation.

I own a 2007 Ford Focus. I purchased it used. It has 40,125 miles on it. And I have been driving it for around six months. So far I really, really, like this car.

Today I drive to work and my car starts normally. I did however notice that the battery light was on, but I attributed this to me leaving my cellphone charger and my cellphone in the car charging over night. I do forget to bring it in sometimes.

I drive the 20 miles to work, just fine. Nothing out of the ordinary. Park, work my ten hours, and then get done. I go out, try to start my car, and nothing. The vehicle didn't turn over, and no audible noises or solenoid clicks. The was some power to the dashboard, as the odometer backlighting came on and the instrument panel indicators, such as the battery light, oil, etc all flashed briefly.

I figured this was merely a dead battery, and that I perhaps left my lights on. Which I didn't. My cellphone was off the charger, but my charger was still plugged into the socket. I removed that from the socket, turned the radio off and shut off the fan and AC in the car. Got a jump start from a co-worker. Car started up immediately, and ran perfectly fine all the way home. No stuttering or stalling. I figured that it was just a fluke and I left my door slightly ajar with the interior light on that drained the battery.

Park the car at home. Sits for several hours. I figure on a whim that I better check to see if it still starts before I hit the hay and go out to try starting it again. Again. Nothing. Turn the key all the lights go out in the vehicle and no noise or solenoid clicking.