Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First,
Thank you for being patient with me as I have no real experience with mechanical issues.
Several months ago, I had noticed my focus (2006 ZX4) having somewhat of an acceleration issue. It would happen ever so often and gradually got more frequent/worse. I would begin to accelerate and notice that my foot would have the pedal almost to the floor with little actual acceleration. The RPMs would soar and the car would very slowly and awkwardly get to the desired speed. If I was on an incline, the car would essentially get stuck on the lower gears, like something was fighting the acceleration. If I removed my foot from accelerating, the car would slow down immediately and eventually come to a stop WITHOUT APPLYING THE BRAKES. When I did apply the brakes, they were very hard. I thought this was strange, but continued driving since it would not occur all the time. Eventually, my parking light began staying on though the parking brake was not engaged. Then the ABS light would come on and and off at low speeds. At one point, my car was hardly accelerating and I had to pull over to a mechanics. I'm pretty sure I got had, they sent me off with a new alternator and empty pockets, they had also recommended brake work so I stopped off a Just Brakes afterwards. At this point, the original mechanic had gotten the ABS and Parking brake lights to disappear but on my way to Just Brakes, the same issue of problems accelerating would occur.