Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 2002 Ford Focus SE with 89,xxx miles. The car still runs excellent with very few problems in the past.

Lately though, I've noticed that I'm only getting ~200mi per tank (11 gal). It seems to equal around ~17mpg.

I don't drive it hard (actually, I am a slow driver). The vacuum system was fixed ~4 months ago. The air filter is clean. It doesn't leak any fluids (gas, oil, etc. ). It idles fine, it drives fine- it just simply lacks mpg.

Has anybody had any problems similar or experience with this? I'd like to get it fixed soon, without replacing unnecessary parts.

·
Premium Member
44,595 Posts
The usual first comment is to track it closer to see where you stand, actual trip odo. miles vs. fill up gallons to get some good numbers.

Could you mention your engine type? We can't guess from just '02 SE and any exact pointers differ between engines.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
I reset my odometer every time I fill my tank so I know if mpg is consistant. I just filled up yesterday from 1/4 tank (3/4 empty) and there was ~190 miles on the odo. So, in 3/4 of my 13.x gal. tank, I got about 190 miles.

Also, I apologize, I have the 2.0l Zetec.

Would replacing plugs, wires, and fuel filter really make THAT big of a difference?

·
Registered
4,416 Posts
Have car OBD scanned for codes, lots of places will do this for free.
Check tire pressure.
Lift each wheel off ground and check that it spins freely.
Clean MAF sensor.
Check health of spark plugs and/or replace them.
Remove and check entire Coil Pack for tiny hairline cracks.
Maybe replace spark plug wires.
Maybe have fuel injectors removed and professionally cleaned.
Check for dead weight or person hiding inside trunk.

Persons who did Vac repair might have made a mistake.

Oh, Sailor n OP replied, whoops.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 · (Edited)