Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Runs and Dies!!!!!!!! = (

Alright everybody help me out. Just recently rebuilt motor with new pistons, cams, injectors, and supercharger. A buddy of mine had the ecu reprogrammed for the new mods. The car will fire right up, run for about 5 minutes and shut off... I think its the ECU because when hooked up to machine(not cars electronics) it runs fine. but as soon as you re hook everything up in the car back to the problem. Any ideas??? [gunfire]

·
C2H5OH
11,867 Posts
What is said machine?

Do you have a way of datalogging?

My initial guess would be that the ignition is loosing signal/power. So try to verify the Crank Position output and test the coil.

Oh ya, fuel?

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
my mind is going blank right now so help me out... when you have the motor pulled and the motors running off a computer. Im running super unleaded pump gas.

Im new to messing with cars. I just sold my truck and bought a focus and started messing with it.

So any advice is greatly appreciated![driving]

Thanks,
Cory

·
C2H5OH
11,867 Posts
No no, lol. Not what fuel, do you have fuel? As in the injectors aren't loosing power or the fuel pump overheating and shutting down.

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
[?|] oh ha ha my bad! Yea lol its getting fuel! Like I said when my buddy hooked the mother up to the computer at the shop it ran forever. But when we hooked it back up to the cars ecu it ran for about 5 minutes and then shut off. It was running fine after the motor work and about a week later driving down the road it started shuttering and shut off. Thats how it all started.

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·