Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi. Newbie here.

My Focus 1.8tddi (2000) runs like magic. 222,000 miles on the clock. I keep it well maintained but the engine developed it's first an oil leak a few months ago and I can't seem to figure out where it's leaking from. It must be coming from the gearbox side as it seems to only be the gearbox and surrounding area that is drenched in oil.

I've replaced the usual suspects - oil pressure switch, rocker cover gasket and even a new crankshaft seal (gearbox side) but there is still plenty of oil on the appearing on the gearbox. I've checked hoses and pipes and nothing is split etc. All the injectors are sealed and no presence of oil.

Problem is that when I jet wash the gearbox and leave the engine running there is no obvious drip of oil. Yet when I've been out for a drive there is fresh oil on the gearbox housing (definitely not gearbox oil) so it must be occurring while the engine is under load.

Do any of you have any ideas where the leak could be coming from? A Ford mechanic said to check the vacuum pump seal and there is definitely oil around the bottom of it (nothing from the top) so I've bought a new seal. Could that be the problem? Also, I can't find any sensible instructions on how to remove the pump.

Looking for some advice.

Thanks.

Scoobydoo

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #2