Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Sneeze
10,828 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was at the track on sunday for and open track day at the local road racing course. The sessions were like 20 minutes each. Shortly into each session I'd notice that my oil temp gauge was way up pegging the high side. As a reaction I looked at the water temp guage and that was sitting perfectly at normal. The water temp gauge would only start to move towards hot on the final lap or to, and only when its really hot outside.

Basically I'd like to start gathering infos on possible adding in an oil cooler to help keep those temps down. I also know that I could prolly go in and wrap the cat (seeing as it passes right by the oil pan) and that should also help. Any info would be great as i'm kinda new at all the non basic mods. (edit: This will also help to keep temps down once i go turbo in the spring)

- Aku

·
Sneeze
10,828 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Not a clue, hence why i'm asking these questions. I've heard of some sort of inline cooler that mounts in an oil line somewhere and then i just spice a waterline and run water through.. a water to air cooler kinda deal but i don't know for sure what it is.

·
aka The Wizard
8,950 Posts
he's talking about what i have on the Contour motor...

you can buy a little sandwich plate that spaces out the filter another inch or so, and then you run the water/coolant through that plate and it cools the oil as it passes through.

i might actually have one from when i bought the 3 gauge A pillar i know he sent the oil pressure sender and some kind of sandwich plate.

found it!

http://www.glowshiftdirect.com/oil-cooler-sandwich-block-adapter-20mm.aspx

thats what i have... except the right size for the Zetec block.

·
Sneeze
10,828 Posts
Discussion Starter #5