Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Meh.
10,609 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As the tittle indicates, I am a noob at audio systems but it is time to learn. My questions are all related to how I can wire up my Subwoofer to a factory head unit.

First question: I have removed the rear drivers side speaker because that is the general area the sub is going and I need to move it. However, I don't really miss having that speaker so I was wondering if I can hook that speaker wires directly to the amp. From what I understand, this probably wont work very well but I thought I'd at least ask because it would be the easiest way.

Second question: If I can't do the above, my amp has a way to wire the left and right speaker directly to it just like what I understand a LOC does. The problem is that it's at the amp which would require running wires from the speaker on the passenger side, right? Or do the wires to the passenger side speaker run along the drivers side too (I haven't look at a wiring diagram of my car but will try to find one).

Last question: Which method would have the best quality sound. Running off the speaker if possible, wiring both speakers into the amp, or purchasing a LOC and wiring it up that way.

Thanks for all your help.

·
Registered
2,484 Posts
Which amp is it?

First you need power and ground for the amp. You also need a way to switch it on and off. Most after market radios have a lead that is used to remotly switch the amp on and off when the radio is turned on. The stock readio might be tricky to do this with. You can however wire it up so it comes on with the car ignition.