Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
115 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey Guys,

I'm new to this whole focus scene. Got a few questions to ask. I drive a 2001 Ford Focus Kona Edition manual with 63,000 miles.

First I'm looking for a exhaust system or possibly just a muffler to make my car louder (but not too loud) so that I can hear the engine better over my syereo and sub. Any suggestions would be great, my only problem is I don't want the car to sound too high pitched or ricey. I know this is a hard medium.

Secondly,
I'm in need of new brakes in the front. I'm looking for some good long lasting ones that wont get too crazy on the wallet.

Lastly,
Once again this car has 63,000 miles on it and I have small knowledge of the previous matinence records. I've heard that the timing belt is a big problem with these cars, that when they go, they pretty much kill the entire car. So when is it neccessary to change it?

Thought of something else :), a good CAI suggestion would be nice!

Thanks everyone, appreciate it.

·
Registered
714 Posts
my reccomendations on exhaust would be MBRP (good price, and sounds really good), or for a little more money you can get either Magnaflow or Borla which both of those systems sound good too.

for the cold air intake.....you can get the F2 Focus CAI for $80 shipped.

for brakes.....are you looking for some kind of performance brakes or stock??

·
Registered
115 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
Yellow-ZX3 said:
my reccomendations on exhaust would be MBRP (good price, and sounds really good), or for a little more money you can get either Magnaflow or Borla which both of those systems sound good too.

for the cold air intake.....you can get the F2 Focus CAI for $80 shipped.

for brakes.....are you looking for some kind of performance brakes or stock??

Performance perferrably depending on money.