Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
124 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I just went from and ATX focus to an SVT...I am very new to using a manual tranny and I have a couple questions about shifting in a 1/4 mile race and just in general. I read HalfTimes 1/4 mile review and I thought it was excellent![thumb] but I still have a question or two.

Do I go to 7100 rpms before shifting at every gear 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th?

I have heard of people shifting with out using a clutch? I am assuming this is a bad idea, but I would like somebodies opinions.[paranoid]

I am not really familiar with some of the phases people use to describe shifting, like...
double clutching
dump the clutch
feather the clutch
pop the clutch
float the clutch
ect...

Anybody's help on this would be great!

·
Registered
1,051 Posts
Actually...in the "how to" sticky in this forum there was a link to a thread on how to get the best times ;)

http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&postid=1041704#post1041704

as for shifting w/o the clutch....I personally wouldn't do it...but i hear that if done properly it doesn't have any ill-effects (all from what i read/heard...)

Now...i'm not all that familiar with those terms either...but i'll give it a go

double clutching - If i'm not mistaken it goes like this...

press clutch, take it out of gear, let go of clutch...press again, put it in gear (of course all this has to be done pretty quickly

dump the clutch - rev the car...then just let go of the clutch

Pop the clutch - i think it may be the same thing as dumping the clutch

feather and float i believe are also the same...feathering is basically reving the car and slowly lifting off the clutch while your pressing down the gas. So you never really let fully go of the clutch while taking off.

If i'm wrong then by all means correct me [thumb]

·
Registered
124 Posts
Discussion Starter #3