Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Registered
307 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just got done upgrading to a 16G and FMIC from my original 14b (blown seals) SMIC setup. Now whenever I hit full boost and keep it there, the car just falls flat on its face as if I had slammed on the brakes. Anybody know what's causing this? Would it be the tune that was made for the old turbo?

·
Stock
5,040 Posts
Im not an expert but I would assume so. You are pushing a different volume of air with the different turbo. I would assume that you need an update on your tune since it is a different size turbo.

·
Registered
307 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I hope that's the solution. It'd make things a lot easier, lol.

I don't know though. The 16g and 14b are supposed to be relatively the same turbo with the 16 g being slightly bigger. I could hit full boost with the 14b at 4K rpms and it takes me about 5K with the 16g. Would that much of a difference cause problems with the tune/maybe maxing out the stock fuel pump?

·
I.S.A.I.K.I.
5,413 Posts
Even the small increase in flow efficiency is going to throw things out of whack. Best guess is that you're going to have to retune. That 16g should be spooling up alot sooner than 5k rpms.

Could be MAF issues. Can you adjust the MAFia at all manually without a tune?

·
Registered
307 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Even the small increase in flow efficiency is going to throw things out of whack. Best guess is that you're going to have to retune. That 16g should be spooling up alot sooner than 5k rpms.

Could be MAF issues. Can you adjust the MAFia at all manually without a tune?
I don't have a MAFia, I have a 05+ Mustang slot style MAF with a housing that's welded straight into my 2.5" charge piping.

·
Registered
307 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
double post

·
Registered
307 Posts
Discussion Starter #8