Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all.

I'm new to autocross racing (have only raced twice) and I'm racing in what I already own since buying another car isn't really an option. I own a 2013 Ford Focus Titanium and now that I'm getting comfortable and ready to move out of novice, I'd like some ideas on what upgrades I should start looking at. I'm mainly racing against myself and just trying to get better and better times until I can push my car no more.

That being said, I've started looking at tires (obviously) and am also looking at upgrading the intake, exhaust, and springs. The Ford dealership says I can go with Roush parts and those last 3 and with installation, they will charge me $1,500 and cover everything under my factory warranty.

Any other suggestions or ideas that I should also look into as this is going to be my next thing next to my other hobbies that I'm going to start going into debt on? I'd really like to hear some feedback. Thanks everyone.

·
Registered
71 Posts
Intake and springs will put into STF which a very fun class to compete in. But you would be better served to go for H-Street which is a stock based class where you run Street Tires +200utqg, can have a catback exhaust, ONE swaybar (do the rear) and a high performance OE replacement air filter. The idea being with minor inexpensive modifications to the car, learn how to drive the car at speed and develop the driver before building the car for whatever you find out is your preferred setup. Autocross is more driver skill than machine build so get some top tier tires and get some seat time. The Focus is fun and competitive in H-Street and STF. If it is STF you decide to build for, check out JustinT's build thread, that car is going to win the SCCA Solo National Championships this year.

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #3